Competition programme

SELECTION ROUND (recording is sent together with the ONLINE application):


1. W. A. Mozart – First movement of one selected violin concerto:

No. 1 in B major KV 207 or

No. 2 in D major KV 211 or

No. 3 in G major KV 216 or

No. 4 in D major KV 218 or

No. 5 in A major KV 219

2. N. Paganini: one caprice selected from Op. 1

I ROUND (no more than 30 participants):


1. J. S. Bach:

Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001; III and IV movements (Siciliana, Presto) or

Sonata No. 2 in A minor, BWV 1003; III and IV movements (Andante, Allegro) or

Sonata No. 3 in C major, BWV 1005; III and IV movements (Largo, Allegro assai)

2. N. Paganini: one caprice selected from Op. 1 (the same can be repeated from the selection round)

3. Selected virtuosic piece (duration up to 15 min.)

4. Compulsory piece for violin solo, witten by Vilnius composer (will be sent together with the competition acceptance confirmation)

5. Transcription by Jascha Heifetz


II ROUND (no more than 6 participants. The finalists will be accompanied by Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra):


  • F. Mendelssohn: Concerto for violin in E minor, Op. 64 or

  • J. Sibelius: Concerto for violin in D minor, Op. 47 or

  • P. Tchaikovsky: Concerto for violin in D major, Op. 35

  • A. Glazunov: Concerto for violin in A minor, Op. 82



II prize and special EMCY prize winner in 2013 David Petrlik  (France) with Kremerata Baltica photo by D. Matvejevas